Social media policy

1. Connecting: Hello there
Do introduce yourself and let me know why you chose to follow me! I’m interested to know why you’re here so I can not only keep doing what I’m doing, but also potentially offer up more of the posts that I know have a bigger interest.

2. Follow, add, friend: Numbers don’t matter
I don’t add people just to increase my friend-count, so if you want me to follow you, I’ll have to get to know you first. I won’t use you to make myself appear popular and I’d appreciate it if you didn’t expect that from me either.

3. Privacy, boundaries and safety: Drawing a line in the sand
I like my privacy. As a rule, I don’t give out my phone number/address, but if there is a need (things require mailing, we become really good friends, etc.), private messages will be sent with the necessary info. You can always ask me first if you need it, but don’t be surprised if I refuse.

4. Signal to noise: Sifting through the junk
I hate spam and people that update umpteen times daily. I dislike wading through people’s pointless updates to find the ones I actually want to read. I don’t hold it against you if you’re the kind that update like a mad fiend, but don’t be surprised if I unfollow/unfriend you.

5. Personal data and sharing: How much is too much?
I’m not big on the sharing end of things, but by all means–if you notice that we have some of the same views and/or goals I’d certainly be interested to talk and discuss.

6. My networking needs and uses: Few and far between
I have: LinkedIn Twitter, and Facebook. Twitter I only use to spam my sister; LinkedIn I have for professional use, though right now it’s not much more than an extra link on my portfolio website; and Facebook I use to keep tabs on friends, classmates and general things I like–when I can be bothered to actually read down my news feed, anyway. I much prefer emails or texts (Facebook messages also work) to get in touch with people. Basically, I never really got heavily into social media, even if I do see its uses and appeal.

Screen Shot 2014-03-03 at 12.16.57 PM

 

 

 

 

 

Go on, you know you want to click it.

Original social media policy template located at Public Relations Matters

Leave a Reply

